No Kangaroos in Austria

It was my second day in the country when I was confronted with a magnet bearing this slogan. How very welcoming of them, I thought, to remind of how I’m not at home. It even looks like an Aussie road sign “Kangaroos, Next 10 km” for crying out loud, I think the Austrians are just jealous because kangaroos are awesome. And for those who are wondering, yes I did buy the magnet in the end, it was too funny to pass up.

So, overlooking the adamant rejection of kangaroos, Austria, or more specifically Salzburg, is amazing. The same day I saw the magnet I looked out my bedroom window to see a mountain. A beautiful, clear, now snowcapped mountain. The hills are alive indeed and I’m proud to say that within my first fortnight in Salzburg I’ve already ticked three of the biggest things off the list. Firstly I went to the Mozart museum, ate the original Mozartkugel and went to the Mozart cafe. Secondly, I watched the Sound of Music. I haven’t done the movie-inspired tour yet, but I’m working on it. And lastly, we went to one of the salt mines that gave the city its name and wealth. For a girl who loves roller coasters, going down steep slides metres below the surface is great fun. Not to mention the little train that took us all down there and made sure we all got up close and personal with each other. It was a fun, if slightly awkward, way to break the ice.

Salzburg is without a doubt one of the most beautiful places I’ve been. I think in part that because I’m being biased about my new home, but it’s also due to the fact that on my walk around the campus one evening I saw some deer. And of course the old town (Altstadt) is charming. I have a thing for pedestrianised streets, because honestly the idea of being run over in the middle of sightseeing doesn’t appeal to me, so Salzburg’s altstadt is perfect. Walking down the main street, Getreidegasse, is a bit like taking  step back in time, if you ignore the McDonald’s. All the shops have ornate metal signs hanging out the front, with cute pictures or symbols to show what they sell. My favourite shops there are the ones that sell tracht, dirndl and the oh so sexy lederhosen. A little part of me wants to become Austrian for a day just so I can wear a dirndl without feeling like a fraud.

Of course, I’m too much of an Aussie to admit that out loud. And again speaking of Australia, there are 3 things that I miss the most right now, having settled into my cute little self-contained apartment. And those three things are all food. I want vegemite, timtams and shapes! I would kill for a timtam right now. Austria has great food too, while I’m on the topic. Wiener Schnitzels for the win. Oh and Mozartkugel, but I’ve mentioned that already. And yes, Mozartkugel is a reference to the musician. The literal translation is Mozart balls. I’ll leave you to think on that one.

2 comments

  1. Hello Cheshire,

    I am a Canadian now living in Austria. I agree with you that the Mozartkugel are really delicious. Don’t put a bag in front of me, I’ll eat for sure. 🙂

    I agree that Salzburg is nice. Have you been just beside in Salzkamergut? Not sure if I spelled it right.

    I wrote a quick blog about Austria and kangaroo. Unfortunately it’s in french but, I can resume it really quick to you. http://jeaninaustria.blogspot.co.at/2012/10/no-kangaroos-in-austria.html

    I bought this no kangaroo in Austria shirt to my girl friend.

    One day we were walking in a forest. That forest brang us to Czech Republik. On the way back we saw a small farm and there was Kangaroos. It’s the last picture of the blog.

    In fact, I am not sure if they are kangaroos or another kind of small Kangaroos. Anyway I found it funny and I had to tell you. 🙂

    I’ll read more of your blog.

    1. I’ve been to Vienna, Innsbruck and Linz, just for short day trips though. Definitely planning to change that, as well as visit Graz. Have you been to any of these places? =)

Leave a Reply

